Skip to content

Facts about Denmark

Ten facts about Denmark

Name: The Kingdom of Denmark

Capital: Copenhagen

Location: Northern Europe and a part of Scandinavia. It borders Germany and is surrounded by the North Sea, Skagerrak, Kattegat, and the Baltic Sea.

Language: Danish, but a majority speaks English as a second language

Population: 5.6 million – 130 inhabitants per sq. km.

Currency: Danish Kroner (DKK), 1 krone = 100 øre

Area: 43.000 square kilometres (26.700 square miles) spread over 406 islands (not including Greenland and the Faroe Islands) whereof around 80 are inhabited.

Form of government: Constitutional Monarchy but functions as a representative democracy.

Religion: The vast majority, 90%, are Lutheran Protestant. Muslims are estimated to make up approximately 4% of the population.

Highest point: 173 metres above sea level.