Skip to content

Travel to Denmark, the Faroe Islands or Greenland and to Iceland

1. Short term stay (up to 90 days)

To determine if you need a Schengen visa to enter Denmark press this link.

Denmark is part of the Schengen area, which includes the following 26 countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. This means that you apply for a Schengen visa.

Schengen visa for Denmark, the Faroe Islands or Greenland

A regular Schengen visa is not valid for the Faroe Islands or Greenland. If you wish to travel to these destinations, you need a Schengen Visa issued by the Danish Representative Office specifying in the comments section of the visa that it is valid for the Faroe Islands or valid for Greenland.

Schengen visa for Iceland

Please note that on visa matters, Denmark represents Iceland in Palestine. The application process is the same as for a visa application to Denmark but please make sure to specify that the application’s “Member State of destination” is Iceland.


Please note:

  • Mere possession of a visa does not confer an automatic right of entry. Holders of visa are requested to present proof that they fulfil the entry conditions at the external border.
  • Applicants of certain nationalities are subject to prior Schengen consultation. For more information see Annex 16 of the Visa Code Handbook.
  • Please note that in Denmark you are not allowed to take up residence or work on a Schengen visa.

2. Long term stay (longer than 90 days)

If you want to work, study or stay in Denmark longer than 90 days, you should apply for a residence and/or work permit. You apply for a residence and/or work permit through either the Danish Immigration Service or the Danish Agency for International Recruitment and Integration (SIRI). Read more about the different residence and/or work permits here.




Opening hours

The Visa Application Center in the West Bank (VFS Ramallah)
Ground Floor, Madar Building, Al Kawthar Street, Al Balou, Ramallah
Helpline number: +972 294 5414
Opening hours:
08.30 - 12.30 (Sunday - Thursday)
08.30 - 10.00 (Saturday)


Visa Application Center in the Gaza Strip (VFS Gaza)

33/1360 Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Gaza City
Helpline number: + 970 8 2821357

Opening hours:
09.00 - 12.00 (Sunday -Thursday)
09:00 - 10:30 (Saturday)